I’m back!

I’m back from a trip of a kind I’ve always loved. Far places, awesome landscapes, lots of kilometers in my real view and lots of pictures, of course!
It was quite a long time since the last time I allowed myself to live such a strong adventure. More or less since my daughter born.
I’m so happy I had the chance to share this incredible experience with her. She’s happy too and she’s come back grown up and changed by this trip. She has already chosen the next stop: India…

But this blog is about photography!
This time I rolled my dice and I left with a light bag. Well, I knew my equipment wasn’t enough for a safari and in effect as soon as I arrived I realized it was even far worse that I tought! For sure, there were many other travellerss better organized and most part non-professional protographers. well, I left Milano with:

D700 and 24-70mm (14-24mm also in my bag)
D7000 and 70-300 mm

While I was quite sure the first pair would have been functional, I was uncertain about the value of the second pair.
I coulden’t find  anyone approving my D7000 (not for a professional photographer), not to talk about my 70-300mm: too short, not enough sharply defined, useless during a safari.
I had to change my mind and you can judge from my pictures now.
Sometime the little one was even more trusty that the bigger one. A little bit slower in autofocuing, a lot quicker and noiseless in shooting, lot lighter and handy.
By the way, since I’m so devoted to a photographer duty, I brought the tripod around for all way trough South Africa… Never used!
Whoever says he used a tripod on a safari jeep, lies! Keep it in your mind. Actually there were some brave men who tied to do that and I could see the suffering on their faces…
Going back to the D7000, there is one big bug: in the dark, just after the sunset, was a mess. Maybe the low quality lens wasn’t helping, but still after the sunset was impossible to take a decent picture.
No complaints about D700: reliable as always.

One last say: Coolpix P300 that Nikon sent me is the best compact camera I’v ever used.

Nikon D7000 - Nikkor AF-S VR 70- 300 mm f/4,5-5,6G IF-ED

Nikon D7000 - Nikkor AF-S VR 70- 300 mm f/4,5-5,6G IF-ED

Nikon D7000 - Nikkor AF-S VR 70- 300 mm f/4,5-5,6G IF-ED

Nikon D7000 - Nikkor AF-S VR 70- 300 mm f/4,5-5,6G IF-ED

Nikon Coolpix P300

Nikon Coolpix P300

Nikon Coolpix P300

Veronica
HOMEPAGE
MY WEB SITE

Leave a Reply

